My First Blog Post

I’ll keep this first one short and sweet.

When I was a senior in high school, I had no idea what I wanted to study in college. With graduation looming, I really wanted to choose SOMETHING, knowing that I could change it at any time. I had already decided to attend the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC), so I started browsing their list of majors. As my eyes were starting to glaze over staring at my laptop screen, I found the one: science writing.

Science journalism fit me like a glove. I’ve love to write, and having worked for my high school newspaper, I had the beginning foundations on how to find an angle for a story. I’ve also had a strong passion for science for as long as I can remember. Learning about how the world works (literally) is absolutely fascinating. There is always something new to discover. If you love to learn, science is certainly the subject to study!

Many scientists struggle to explain their work to the normal, every day person. That’s where science journalists come in. We give the studies and discoveries a human interest aspect that it may not have had before. We answer questions for readers such as, “How will this impact me?” or “Why should I care?” In each of my blog posts, I hope to peak someone’s interest and expose them to something new in the science world.

Bridging together the two disciplines of science and writing is imperative. The general public deserves to be informed of the happenings in the scientific community, for it greatly impacts nearly every part of their lives. My hope is that this blog will allow me to learn with those around me about the incredible wonders of the science world!

Leave a Reply

